Flu Season Saver!!! (recipe)

Well, school sure does bring out the grossest in you and your kids.

We have had lots of aliments this past month with the start of school. One that I was least looking forward to hit my daughter last week and myself last night, the stomach flu.

I greatly dislike the stomach flu, as I am sure most people and species do. However, I dislike it more, due to my phobia of throwing up. Now this isn’t a prescribed full fledged phobia, that would be called, emetophobia. This is the greatest dislike I have, that I will go to any means to avoid even the idea of throwing up. That means strictly limiting my alcohol intake, avoiding undercooked foods, avoiding new foods, avoiding old foods, and avoiding all flu’s, as much as possible.

TMI time! Thankfully I didn’t throw up last night, though my body wanted to. It took me an hour and a half to convince myself of even the idea and by that time there was nothing left in my stomach, it had been over 10 hours since I had last eaten. Whew!

Though I have, thus far, avoided throwing up, I am still very sick. So much that I had to distract myself by writing this post. Thanks for listening!

I am also trying out somewhat solid food at the moment. Which brings me to the point of this post.

Awhile back I discovered a super easy recipe in a Thai Kitchen brand cookbook. It is called the Thai Banana Smoothie. It is amazing when healthy, but when sick, it is a stomach saver!!!!

I have been making this for a couple of years whenever the snug and I aren’t feeling well or have been sick in the sort of way that would lead to dehydration and it helps us feel a ton better.

Here are the ingredients you will need:

Coconut milk, bananas, pineapple juice and ice.

Thai Banana Smoothie

4 oz. Coconut Milk

1 banana

4 oz. Pineapple Juice

4 oz. ice

Combine all the ingredients in a blender and enjoy! (4 oz. = 1/2 cup).

It is that easy. Which is good, because when you can hardly stand up, but need to eat, this is a fast fix and a super healthy one.

Why so healthy? Well, the bananas are the main go to food after throwing up, due to the potassium, something your body looses when it throws up. The pineapple juice has lots of vitamins, unfortunately it also has some sugar in it, but that might help give your body a tiny boost of energy. The coconut milk has lots of healthy fats in it, which is something you will also need. The ice, well that is water and this drink is best served cold.

Happy flu season and I sincerely hope you can avoid throwing up for as long as possible, my last record was 7 1/2 years! That was broke due to an awful stomach flu two years ago! About a million times worse than what I am going through today!!

P.S. I don’t care how healthy or eco-friendly I get, I do not think I will ever, ever detox.

P.P.S. You could also use this recipe to teach the kiddos about Thailand, since all of the ingredients are common there.

 

Leave a Reply

